R.I.P. LEONARD

Vulcan Goodby

R.I.P. LEONARD

 

Leonard Nimoy, famous as Mr. Spock on ‘Star Trek,’ dies

 

 

Yes, he was ‘famous’ as Mr. Spock; but more than that, he was a true renaissance man, a man of so many talents. And more important, he was an intelligent, warm, man. He was as far removed from a ‘celebrity’ as one could be. He loved and was loved by his two children, Adam and Julie. He loved and respected his mother and father. And they were proud of the ‘good son’ they raised.

And he was a good friend to so many people, myself included. Over the years in Show Business, I made friends with a great many; but none like I did with Leonard. I got to know his family. I spent several days in his home. In Boston, he took me to dinner in his parents’ home.

So many good memories. But for now, my farewell post will be short. Some stories have already been posted, many others will follow.

R.I.P. to the man so many knew as Mr. Spock and I knew as Leonard.

16 thoughts on “R.I.P. LEONARD

  1. You are a very lucky man to have known him. I will be putting him in my Farewell Salutes this Monday as he was a SGT. in the US Army. He will be greatly missed by all.

  2. I would not have guessed his death would have affected me as strongly as it is. He was not a young man, nor in good health. Nevertheless, I’m almost overwhelmed.

    I’m honored to have had someone who knew Nimoy liked the post I wrote about his passing. Thank you, sir.

  3. Beautifully written. How wonderful for you to have known Mr Nimoy. My condolences to you as well.
    I was fortunate to meet him three time’s and what a true gentleman.

      • Yes, exactly.
        He was so very much more than “Spock.”
        While I only met him briefly in person he was so much more. An old soul. His role as Spock was the least important thing about him in my humble opinion. A beautiful and rare man through and through.
        I can only imagine how you must be feeling. To be able to call Mr. Nimoy as friend, what a true treasure. And the memories you will have for the rest of your life as well..

  4. I love your calling him ‘an old soul’. And yes, he respected what playing Spock had meant to his life, but he wanted to do way more than just Spock. He did and he succeeded. In one way I have an advantage over most Nimoy fans, in that before I worked with him on VINCENT, I had seen only 2 or 3 episodes of Star Trek. His acting ability impressed me on a clean slate.

Leave a Reply

