VINCENT (2) (THE MAYOR&SONS)

I wasn’t surprised when a pick up came early in the morning to get me and the set from the airport and transport us to the theater. The door had Collin’s Nursery painted on. There was a man driving and two teenage boys in the rear. The rear window was open so the boys could chime in and so we could also have the ‘pleasure’ of listening to their police scanner.

‘Its pretty early, do you think we’ll have any trouble getting the set out of hock?’ I asked, as I slid in.

The boys laughed and one shouted out, ‘Dad can get it out! He’s the Mayor of Rapid City!’

Now that was a surprise! He introduced himself as Mayor Collins. And then introduced his two sons. I called him Mayor from then on and as for the two loudmouths, I didn’t call them by name. In my mind the older was Ding and the younger was Dong.

As the mayor was pulling out, Ding shouted, ‘Don’t forget our park, Dad’.

‘It will only take short ride and you can see Rapid City’s biggest attraction,’ said the mayor. ’Or rather second biggest now that we got our civic complex.’

‘Boy,’ said Ding, ‘Did Dad ever work hard to get that complex. Dong chimed in with agreement. The mayor suggested that if someone else had been mayor there would not be a civic complex.

When the praise was over, we were given a blow by blow account, by Ding and Dong, of the city police at work as we followed the numerous signs to Dinosaur Park.

‘Ta Dah,’ shouted one of them ‘Come on out so you can see them better.’

I got out and looked up and around. There was seven gigantic concrete dinosaurs scattered around the park. Seven different species. Ding and Dong gave me the names of each and details about their lives. ‘Great huh?’

‘Yeah,’ I answered, tongue in cheek. ‘I think we better get to the theater. My crew is waiting. I’ll try to get back out here some other time.’

‘They just pulled over a driver on Elm street for suspected DUI. Bet he’s an Injun.’

And so it went, their running commentary and their display of bigotry.

The Rushmore Plaza Civic Center, now called The Monument, is a huge complex of numerous places for event from conventions to the home ice for the pro hockey team. The theater abutted the Summit Arena which had hosted the rodeo. And the smell that wafted through the theater attested to that fact.

We backed up to the loading dock of the theater and Ding and Dong handed off the set boxes to my eight man local crew.

‘Can we help?’ Ding shouted. ‘Oh, I forgot we ain’t UNION.’

‘Boy, was Dad pissed when he had to sign a contract with the union,’ Dong said. ‘Oh. Look, you even got an Injun on the crew,’ he pointed to one of the men. ‘Good luck trying to get any work out of an Injun.’

I was shocked at what this bigot was saying. Shocked that the bigot was saying it three feet from the ‘Injun’. I was shocked that the mayor nodded his consent at what his son said.

Hammerstein’s lyrics from South Pacific rang through my head. You got to be taught to hate and fear…….You have to be carefully taught.

The mayor had been a ‘good’ teacher. His sons had been carefully taught. When the mayor left, he invited me to go out to eat with him and his sons before I left town. I didn’t elaborate. I just told him that I would probably be too busy.

It was a good crew. I had sent a set plot and a lighting plot ahead. Every thing I needed was there. The steward was forthcoming and apologized because it was their first job in professional theater. Before that it was high school or college.

‘Don’t sweat it. We’ll make it. The language might be different. You say ellipsoidal. I say leko. You say movie screen. I say picture sheet. We’ll make it,’ I assured them.

They were newly formed. My old nemesis, David R, the 9th District Representative got their contract worked out a shameful contract. The pay was okay for Rapid City but there was only a one hour minimum when they were called in. The minimum is at the very least four hours any place else. And if they go into the next hour that pay is not the full hour like every place else. It is broken down in quarter hour segments, They could get called in and walk out with an hour and a quarters pay. Probably less than it cost them to drive to the call.

When I told them what a good contract should be like, the steward frowned and said he would have to phone David R and with demands for the next contract, or Rapid City would experience new happening…a union strike.

I divided the crew. Some in electrics. Some putting the picture sheets together. And one to help Dennis with the projectors and sound. The set up was slated for eight hours, We finished in less than four, which was my set up time the rest of the tour.

(Scott, the hand that took Vincent out the second time, told me that at the end of the Leonard thanked him. And then asked him why all the set-ups took close to eight hours, while all of Don’s took four. When Scott told Leonard that the set-up couldn’t be done in that little time, Leonard pulled out a notebook and went city by city on the first tour, all set-ups less than four. How did you do it, Don? I didn’t do it, Scott. My crews did it. I had hoped that I had taught Scott a lesson in getting people to work, but Scott continued to hurt himself by ticking off people who had to work under him. I swear, Scott could even piss off Mother Theresa. He sure had the knack )

Once again, I digress, this time to brag, something I never did when I was in charge of a crew.

Leonard and is wife, Sandy came into the theater to look things over, and Sandy wrinkled her nose at the stink. She asked if that stink was what she thought it was and Leonard told her yes, it was what she thought it was. I suggested that a large part of the audience probably had attended the rodeo and wouldn’t be bothered by it. Leonard suggested leaving the AC run to lessen the smell. That worked.

I went out and had a buffalo burger with a few my crew after. Lo and behold, who comes in but the mayor and a gentleman in an expensive suit. As he came by our booth, the mayor stopped. He glared at the Injun and then he gave me a hello-nod and walked on by.

The ‘Injun’, Matt, came from his family’s about forty miles west of Mt. Rushmore. In addition to large herd of Black Angus, they had a large herd of Beefalo,a cross between domestic cattle and buffalo. Plus several prize winning quarter horses. Matt had graduated from U of SDak with major in Humanities and minor in Art. He was living in Rapid City and was getting a national reputation an award winning stain glass artist.

The only reason he was in the Stagehands was an occasional relief from his art and the steward was an old friend.

And because he did not want to cause his friends trouble, he took the BS from the mayor and his sons.

In one ear and out the other.

Consider the source.

(I remember an interview with in the Twin Cities in the 60’s with Dick Gregory, comedian, actor, and social activist. When asked if he found much prejudice here during his visit. He said there wasn’t as much prejudice against the blacks here as elsewhere. The reason being there was such a large number of Native Americans living here and the WASPs were too wrapped up in their hatred of the Indians to bother hating the blacks.)

I don’t imagine

the mayor and his sons

bothered to hate the blacks

Next up

the performance & out

9 thoughts on “VINCENT (2) (THE MAYOR&SONS)

  1. A buffalo burger!! That sounds amazing! We don’t have Buffalos so I’m jealous! Looking forward to the next installment, hope Mayor and his Ding Dongs get their comeuppance.

  2. You were right to announce that you would talk about the prejudices of the mayor and his two sons.

    Unfortunately, it is common (and sad) for children who live in a family where racial hatred is practiced to become racist, without even thinking with their own minds.

  3. Was the stench really from the rodeo fans or their stinking prejudiced? Good story. There are so many people that can’t get out of their own way, nevermind anyone else’s.

  4. Ding and Dong and their dad sound like people I would be very uncomfortable around. You did well to hold back, Don. The union pay rates took me back to my days as a union organiser as an EMT. Lots of meetings and vociferous arguments with management. I was young and fiery, and enjoyed the confrontation.

    Best wishes, Pete.

Leave a comment